SGH Urology 35th Anniversary Gala Dinner


Emcee Lester Leo was the emcee for the SGH Department of Urology 35th Anniversary Gala Dinner

Mr Lawrene Wong, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, was the Guest-of-honour.

Founded by Professor Foo Keong Tatt in 1988, it was the first Urology Department in Singapore. It has since grown from strength to strength.
Today, it covers all urological sub-specialties, addressing all aspects of urological needs. The Department is also a destination for international fellowship training, attracting aspiring urologists from the Asia Pacific region and beyond.
The Urology Department took the opportunity to honour Professor Christopher Cheng, a former head of the department. Prof Cheng became the first recipient of the Foo Keong Tatt Professorship in Urology, aptly named after SGH Urology Department’s founding father, Prof Foo.
The appointment of this professorship recognises Prof Cheng as an exceptional urologist who has made substantial contributions to clinical practice, education, research and administrative leadership.